New S-P-O-O-P-Y Perler art and InkTober drawings!

Hello, everyone! I have a couple more Halloween-themed Perler projects to share today. Unfortunately, I still didn’t do as many as I would have liked (mostly due to working on InkTober drawings at the last minute), but I really like how the two I made came out so I guess that kind of makes up for it!

dscn1675

I feel like the people familiar with these Perler posts might have expected something Pokemon-related for Halloween, and those people are right. I was originally going to make the original three ghost Pokemon, Gastly, Haunter, and Gengar but at the last minute decided on something else. Looking through sprite sheets, I chose to go with a different ghost Pokemon that I always thought was pretty cool but honestly forget exists half the time — Misdreavous, first introduced in Pokemon Gold/Silver for the GameBoy Color. Since I was making something from that generation, I also thought Murkrow, one of the first dark types introduced in the series, would be a good Halloween-themed project.

Misdreavous ended up having some cool, contrasting colors and I really like how she came out. I was also pretty excited to finally use a shade of pink for something this involved and actually have enough beads for it! The sprite used from the GameBoy games is actually more like a blueish-purple — one of the many shades of blue that I never seem to have or find. But in later games, she gets a tone more similar to the shade I actually used, so everything worked out well.

Murkrow’s pretty cool, too. Crows are classic Halloween birds, and this one looks like it’s  even got a little witch hat, too. 🙂 Both are cool Pokemon, but I wish they were a little  stronger — as one of the few new ghost types and one of the first dark types respectively, it’s too bad they’re not as strong as they deserve to be. At least they got evolutions eventually.

And as I mentioned at the end of last week’s post, I decided (pretty late) to participate in InkTober, where I’ll make one ink drawing a day for the month of October. Since I started a couple of weeks in, I’m trying to make at least one for each of the remaining days. I don’t know if I’ll catch up and complete each prompt by Halloween, but I’m still trying to get as many done as I can. Who knows, I may continue the challenge even after October ends!

But here’s what I’ve done so far:

I’m definitely not happy with how some of them came out, but there are a few in here I really enjoy and may even continue working on digitally at some point. You can tell I eventually got tired of just using ink and started including some pencil shading, too. 🙂 It’s been a lot of fun drawing again, and this is helping me focus on doing creative things even when I don’t feel like it. Which, to be honest, I try doing anyway. But something about things like this and National Poetry Month and NaNoWriMo help make it seem doable, somehow.

Dracula‘s coming along, slowly but surely. Unfortunately, it’s just as slow moving as I remember though. Not bad, just… slow. I’m still going to try having a review for it next week, but the way it’s looking I may not be done by Halloween, so you might have to settle for more spoopy crafts instead!

Anyway, thanks for reading! Hope you’re having a great week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

