New Perler bead art! (Undertale part 2)

Warning: Undertale spoilers

Hey guys! This week I have a few more Perler projects I recently did, and they’re all Undertale-related again. Here we go!

Photo0378

First up is one of my favorite side characters, Napstablook. He — or she? I don’t think Napstablook was identified as any gender. Anyway, Napstablook appears early on in the game, trying not to be noticed by you. You can visit their house later in the game and lie on the floor with them, getting lost in a relaxing trance while listening to music. Napstablook has extremely poor self-esteem, resulting in one of my favorite lines that goes something like, “after a meal I like to lie on the floor and feel like garbage.” Naturally, a truly relatable character. πŸ™‚ Given the nature of their character, I felt it appropriate to have them lie down on my music collection.

I was recently at a convention where I met another Perler artist that gave me a great tip about ironing beads. He said instead of putting the beads over the pegs on the pegboard, put them between the pegs instead. I didn’t know if that would make a huge difference or not, but Napstablook was the first project I tried this with and HOLY CRAP it’s so much better! The process of ironing is significantly more smooth, even on my warped pegboards. The beads even fuse more quickly and easily. White’s always been the color that gave me the most trouble when ironing, but Napstablook came out very nicely, very quickly. I’d highly recommend trying it this way if you don’t already!

DSCN1563

Next up is another one of my favorite characters, Undyne. (Honestly, there’s too many characters from Undertale that qualify has “one of my favorites.” I genuinely enjoy so many of them equally.) She’s the captain of the royal guard that Papyrus desperately wants to join, as well as his good friend. Initially she hunts you down close to the halfway point of the game as a mysterious, armored badass. There are a few scenes where she attacks and you barely escape, but once you reach a certain point she takes her helmet off and vents some steam. She hates humans and is determined to kill you and take your soul, the last one needed to break the barrier keeping the monsters imprisoned underground.

If you choose to save her life after the fight, and if you haven’t killed any monsters, you can join Papyrus later to hang out at Undyne’s house. She’s angry you’re there, still being sour that not only did she lose to a human, but that the human also saved her life, but Papyrus challenges her to be your friend and leaves you two to get to know each other. She’s in casual clothes, which I chose to make her in.

DSCN1565

I also made a huge Undyne from her battle sprite. Well, not exactly her battle sprite, but the one used on the battle screen before the final fight at the end of the Pacifist route. I always liked Undyne’s many expressions. Her huge smile and frustrated faces are probably my favorite, but for this I chose the huge smile. Like the other two projects, I tried the new method of putting beads between the pegs instead of on top, and it continued to amaze me. Normally I’d separate something this big into different sections to fuse, and then fuse those sections together afterwards. But for this I only did the head and the entire body. The entire body was six whole pegboards and I didn’t have one issue fusing them. Maybe it’s because Undyne is incredibly thin, but I was so happy I was able to finish something this big so quickly.

My only real problem is with the sprite itself. This sprite makes it look like Undyne’s not wearing any pants. :X I mean I guess I could have made a belt or something but… ah, I don’t know. Didn’t really want to mess with the original sprite. πŸ˜›

Anyway, that’s all for today! Hope everyone’s having a great week! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

