Spoopy Crafts — Happy Halloween!

Happy Halloween, everyone! I had another book review planned for this week, but in the end I felt like there wasn’t much to say. So in lieu of that, as well as it being Halloween, I’m just going to share some spoopy craft stuff I’ve worked on this month.

DSCN1405So first off, I made a bunch of Boos from Super Mario World out of Perler beads. I’ve actually made a bunch of Perler bead pieces that I haven’t shown off yet (that’s probably going to be next week’s post), but I figured it would be appropriate to show the Boos off today. I turned them into magnets and stuck them on my fridge so they look like one of those Boo circles from the Ghost House levels. I should have made more to make it seem more like the game, but I think you get the picture. šŸ™‚

Along with Bob-ombs, Boos were always my favorite Mario enemies. I don’t know why, they’re just so… cute? Derpy? Spoopy? I like their laughs, too. I dunno. I just think they’re cool, I guess.

Photo0312So of course, I chose a Boo as my first ever Jack-O-Lantern. And before you ask, NO, I did not come up with this myself. I went on Google image search and found a picture of a Boo Jack-O-Lantern and did my best to copy it. Still, I don’t think it’s bad for my first carving.

Photo0310I also made a Jack-O-Lantern of Oogie Boogie from The Nightmare Before Christmas. Again, I copied something I found on Google image search. I think this one looks better than my Boo, but that’s probably because it’s simpler. I haven’t seen this movie in a while, but I think this is from the “This is Halloween” song.

Photo0315And lastly, how could I not try carving pumpkins without even attempting to make a Majora’s Mask Jack-O-Lantern? The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask is probably my favorite video game of all time, and this time of year is perfect to play it.

There was no single image from Google image search I copied from for this pumpkin. I sort of used a bunch of other Jack-O-Lanterns as references for certain parts and tried doing others on my own, only using an actual picture of Majora’s Mask as a reference. Majora’s Mask itself has a lot of thin lines and shapes, so I couldn’t include them all without fearing the entire carving would fall apart. However, I think I added enough in to make it identifiable.

I saw a lot of people make insanely good carvings while searching online, and it looks like they don’t cut all the way through the pumpkin as much as they cut out a certain depth. I tried that here — it’s hard to tell but some of the lines and shapes are only carved halfway in, while the spikes and eyes are obviously removed. While I was carving, the irises accidentally fell out, so I ended up making two round dots and sticking toothpicks in them so they appear to hover in the center of the eye.

Well anyway, I hope everyone has a fantastic Halloween! Everyone stay safe and enjoy the rest of your day! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

