Random Art Day!

I’ve gotten some more art done during the past few weeks! I’ve got to say, it’s been very relaxing when I can sit down and concentrate on drawing again. I’ve got a few more pages worth of drawings done and I figured why not show them off?

2015-08-08 (1)

I’ve been trying to doodle some more images from my Adventure Time: The Art of Ooo art book. This first page has Finn, Jake, and Marceline freaking out about something. Finn’s okay; he was a bit of a warm-up. Jake was okay, but I fooled around too much with my pens and markers and ended up making the outlines way too thick. Marceline came out the best, in my opinion. Between the weird face she’s making and her hair going all over the place (which was very fun to fill in), I think it’s the most interesting doodle of the three.

2015-08-08 (2)

I made a second page worth of Adventure Time characters, too. I tried drawing Bubblegum getting hit in the face with a slice of pizza, which turned out pretty eh. I drew Flame Princess (I think from the scene when she tried to hug Finn for the first time and realized it wasn’t going to work), which is a little better. The crackles of fire coming off her hair and dress help make it look more complex.

Then I tried a cool-looking Fiona. It was the most detailed, and I think it came out really nice. But the picture I was drawing from was shaded with really cool colors, so I thought why not try shading it myself? And not to toot my own horn, but I think it looks much better after shading it. I’m really proud of how this one came out. 🙂

2015-08-18

After several months of hearing how amazing Steven Universe is, I finally decided to sit down and give it some attention. I would have done it sooner, but Netflix once again didn’t offer something I wanted to watch and once again pushed me a little closer to trying out Hulu. However, after looking through our cable’s on demand features, I found a handful of episodes available to watch at my convenience. (Can you tell I don’t really use the cable in our house very much? :b )

AND I LOVE IT.

I’ve been trying to catch it on TV when it’s on, but it’s easier for me to just record it and watch when I can. Anyway, I’ve wanted to try drawing something Steven Universe related ever since. I wanted to find a picture that had more shading opportunities, but I couldn’t find a good one. So instead I went with a picture of Amethyst from the episode when she and Steven ran away, since that’s one of the episodes that’s been stuck in my head for a while.

I think it came out okay. I tried shading, but it was more like coloring it in black and white. I ended up making the picture take up the whole page, which makes the pencil coloring look more grainy. :/ But I still think it’s looks good. Not as good as my Fiona drawing, but still good.

Anyway, I hope everyone’s having a good week so far! Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

