New Perler Bead Art!

Happy New Year, everyone! Don’t know about you, but I’m glad to be out of 2014. It sucked for a lot of people I know, and while I can’t say there’s anything I’m particularly looking forward to in 2015, it’s nice to have that feeling of starting a fresh slate again.

Anyway, I’ve got some new Perler bead stuff to show off! It’s been a while, so let’s get started!

DSCN1126

First off is another gift I made a friend. He’s a big Dragon Ball Z fan, so I wanted to make him something from one of the games. After searching through a bunch of sprite sheets, I decided on Vegeta from a game called Dragon Ball Z: Hyper Dimension, which I don’t think was ever released in America. But who cares? The sprites from that game seemed to be the most high quality I’ve found, so I rolled with it.

Geez! Easily the biggest Perler project I’ve done yet. I’m pretty lucky It came out okay; ironing bigger projects always brings problems, but it wasn’t as bad as, say, my Snorlax. Vegeta here had a lot of convenient “limbs” that fused more quickly and easily. I’ve started to use less pressure when ironing, and I’ve got to say it usually helps somewhat. The ironing paper rarely sticks, which makes the problem of pulling up straggling beads less of an issue. It also helps prevent beads from “bleeding” into each other.

DSCN1128

Next up is my own attempt to show some Christmas spirit. Ladies and gentlemen, may I introduce The Legend of Zelda: A Link to Christmas Past! I used a sprite of Link from Link to the Past and made some color changes for a Santa outfit. I gave him a cookie shield, which is slightly modified in shape from the Red Shield, and a candy cane “sword,” which I sort of copied from one of the other canes he gets in the game. I put some string through it and put it in my car, trying to remind myself that Christmas can be fun as I drove to work.

DSCN1129

Meta Knight, from Kirby: Nightmare in Dreamland. My freshman year of high school holds a lot of memories for me regarding the Game Boy Advance. Games like Metroid Fusion, Megaman Zero, Kirby: Nightmare in Dreamland, Pokemon Sapphire, and The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past found their way into my house one way or another. Whether it was just a good time for Game Boy Advance games, I was lucky regarding Christmas and birthday gifts, or maybe a combination of the two, I found myself playing these games a lot.

Anyway, I have this one particularly strong memory of watching my friend play Kirby: Nightmare in Dreamland as we were walking laps around the soccer field during gym one day. There wasn’t anything special about it, just one of those “snapshot” memories that recalls a specific time during your life. This game always reminds me of that time. I don’t know why I don’t revisit it more; this is probably my favorite Kirby game I own, and the fact you can play through the entire game as Meta Knight in a sort of challenge mode is one of the cooler things this series brings.

This one wasn’t too bad to make; the wings, feet, and sword fused mostly fine with only a little difficulty fusing the center area. I honestly didn’t like how it turned out at first, but when I came back to it the next day, I fell in love with it. This might be my new favorite Perler bead piece.

DSCN1130

Here’s Super Sonic from Sonic the Hedgehog 2. I don’t know if I’ve ever mentioned it in another post, but the Genesis Sonic games played a big part in my childhood. That being said, I really hate Super Sonic. I feel like I’m the only person in the world that thinks this, but for me, Super Sonic is just an obnoxious way to stop hearing the great music that plays through almost every stage. Replacing it with a short loop of an extremely tedious and annoying melody doesn’t seem like much of a reward for collecting all the Chaos Emeralds. I won’t say he’s completely useless, though; I can use him to blaze past the two middle levels of Sonic the Hedgehog 3, which I’m not much of a fan.

Anyway, I made this for a friend from work for covering one of my shifts. It was a day I really wanted covered, and I felt so overjoyed and grateful I just offered to make him something in return, and this is what he chose.

DSCN1146

And finally, here’s Vileplume from Pokemon FireRed and LeafGreen. I bought one of those big, 11,000 count containers of beads since I was running a little low on a lot of colors. I ended up having an abundance of reds, so I looked through some sprite sheets that might help me use some up. I settled on this; definitely wasn’t my first pick of things I wanted to recreate from Pokemon, but whatever. It’s not like I hate Vileplume, or anything.

This was probably the most obnoxious project I’ve had to iron. You can probably tell from the photo, but different parts of this ended up fusing at inconsistent rates. This thing just wouldn’t work with me, and by the time it finally fused as one whole piece, it became extremely warped, even after pressing it down with books overnight. Oh well. I think next time I do a big project, I’ll fuse one pegboard worth of beads at a time and then iron them altogether. Maybe that will bring some more luck.

Anyway, hope you guys have enjoyed the first day of the new year. Here’s hoping it’s better than the last! 🙂

Leave a Reply

