New Perler Bead Art!

This week I put together some Pokemon Red/Blue characters. Check it out!

DSCN1076

The main character, in both his overworld sprite and title screen pose.

I’ve mentioned it a number of times before, but I was a big Pokemon fan when I was a kid. Pokemon was, without a doubt, one of the biggest influences in my life. I’m honestly surprised it took me this long to start making Perler bead art from these games; Pokemon is easily in the top 5 nostalgic things in my life. I could go on all day about my Pokemon memories, but I won’t bore you with that here. Maybe in a separate post.

DSCN1077

The rival character, in both his overworld and one of his Pokemon battle sprites.

This was my first time making sprites from Game Boy games, and I have to admit I’m surprised how big these turned out. The larger pieces in these pictures are all my second biggest so far! This kind of surprised me, I thought Game Boy games would be less detailed than NES or SNES games. But in reality, these are probably the most detailed sprites I’ve worked from. Sorry if I’m nerding out, but there are only four colors here: black, white, and two shades of gray. I don’t know who made the sprite art in these games, but I’m impressed he or she made such detailed characters with such a limited pallet. Seriously, I’m really impressed. When I was going over the sprite sheets to make these, I was surprised to find how well shading was achieved.

DSCN1078

And finally, Professor Oak, in his overworld and game introduction sprite.

I’m still not sure how I feel about the way the overworld sprite pieces came out. They’re much smaller and simpler, like I expected from a Game Boy game. But for whatever reason, the colors used in the original game sprites just didn’t look right when I put the matching beads down on the pegboard. I ended up using the clear-colored beads a lot in the smaller pieces, as well as changing the different shades of gray. It looked better, but… I dunno, something still seems a little off. I don’t hate them, but I think I could have made them better. Oh well.

I love making these, but I’m getting to the point where I’m not sure what to do with them. Admittedly, this was always a problem I faced when making art that wasn’t drawn on paper. I get really into making a type of art, I want to keep doing it, but I realistically don’t know what to do with it, and I end up with a bunch of stuff taking up space in my room. The first few I made just sat up against the bottom of my TV. Then a few more leaned against things on one of my shelves. Now I’ve started tacking them up to an empty space on my wall, which was honestly something I didn’t want to start doing. I’ve seen loads of pictures online of people who have done it, and it looks good, but I’m not a fan of cluttering my walls with stuff. Especially small stuff. I like bigger posters and wall art, but that’s about it. I start to feel overwhelmed if too much stuff is on my walls. Maybe when I have my own place, and I have some kind of experimental room dedicated to making art or something like that, I would pin them up. But right now, when I only have influence over one room, I don’t want so much stuff cluttering up my space. The next Perler bead projects I’m going to make are actually gifts, so I guess I have some time to figure out what to do.

Hope everyone’s having a great week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

