Spring is over. Oh no. How did this happen.

It’s the last week of spring.

Huh.

I don’t want to sound like an old person reminiscing about where the time went, but I could have sworn spring just started. But according to the calendar, spring’s been around for a good 3 months now. Same length as any other season. It started at the same time, and it’s ending at the same time. No surprises.

So why is this a shock to me.

Granted, I feel as though I say this at the end of every season. Part of me is convinced I’ve reached the age where I start saying generic, small-talk phrases when I have nothing else to comment on. (“Can you believe spring’s already over? Herp-a-derp-derp-derp I’m such a boring adult. How about that new Dunkin’ Donuts that just opened down the road?”) But another part feels that spring actually does seem shorter than the rest of the seasons. So let’s look at why that may be before deciding whether or not I’ve transformed into a boring adult.

First, let’s compare holidays. Winter’s probably the king: there’s Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, New Year’s Eve, New Year’s Day (yes, they’re two different holidays), Valentine’s Day, St. Patrick’s Day, and I’m sure some other holidays I couldn’t remember. Fall’s got Halloween and Thanksgiving, which may not seem like a lot, but both of their respective months involve a lot of decorating and prep work. Summer’s got the Fourth of July, which honestly doesn’t leave the same impact as most other holidays. But like I said last week, summer sort of feels like one long holiday anyway.

Spring’s got Easter. I guess. Easter’s fun when you’re a kid, if you hunted for eggs or got baskets, but it’s lost a lot of its charm over the years. It’s like spring said, “Hey, I don’t have any major holidays, so here’s a freebie. Use it as an excuse to see family.”

So maybe one reason’s because there isn’t a lot to look forward to in spring. Sure, everyone can’t wait for it during winter because they’re sick of the cold. But I don’t think a lot of people actually take the time to enjoy the warmer weather before it actually gets too hot or humid. Then they’ll complain and say ridiculous things like “Can you believe spring’s already over? Herp-a-derp-derp-derp I’m such a boring adult. How about that new Dunkin’ Donuts that just opened down the road?”

Here’s a second theory: spring doesn’t really have a season-long image, does it? Sure, we can all think of budding flowers and perfect weather, but how long does that really last? A week? Two? Seems like it. I used to take pictures of the blooming foliage, and I can confidently say there’s a narrow window of opportunity to capture something that truly represents spring.

Photo0047

Spring has the unfortunate responsibility of being about 40% winter, 40% summer, and 20% spring (those numbers might be a tad exaggerated). But still, this means a season of both snow and humidity, shoveling the driveway and mowing the lawn, and using both the heat and AC. Sure, fall has this problem too, but at least the fallen leaves stay on the ground long enough to give it its own identity. Spring’s like being a teenager; it’s trying to strike a balance between its previous and following stages of life, and no one knows how to deal with it.

I feel like I need a third point before I can close out this argument. Let’s see. Hmm. Do I dare blame college on yet another thing?

Well… I know every school is different, but the spring semesters at both my colleges ran from January to May. Let’s say late April to early May is ideal springtime. What exactly is a college student doing during that time? Don’t know about you, but I was losing my shit as I was buried in research papers, term papers, portfolio revisions, and last minute projects. Sure, I saw spring. While driving. Or looking out the window. But was there any time to enjoy it?

For some people, yes.

… I wan’t one of them.

And by the time the spring semester ended, spring was pretty much into its summer phase. You could make the same case for fall semesters but… I don’t know, to be honest. True, students also miss out on a lot of fall things… but…

Umm…

Hmm. I might be grasping at straws now, desperately trying to find some sort of small talk to extend this post.

… Can you believe spring’s already over? Herp-a-derp-derp-derp I’m such a boring adult. How about that new Dunkin’ Donuts that just opened down the road?

Leave a Reply

